Sam I Am

We do so love that Sam I am – A blog about the joys of toddlerhood

Brotherly love

2 Comments

15545278451_c54d6582f2_o

We’ve had five months to adjust to being a family of four and I can’t begin to tell you how incredibly wonderful having two little ones really is. I was so anxious before Tom was born- how would I manage with two when Sam already took up all of my time? What if Sam really didn’t like having a sibling? How would I ever give as much attention to the new baby as I did to Sam when he was born? And on. And on. And on I went. And sure, there are days when life is totally nuts and the house is a disaster and I’m super tired and cranky and I lose my patience and having two little ones does seem crazy. But then there are moments like this.

15295647606_3dc958f307_o

And this.

15144605768_743d85fbf5_o

And this.

15397263810_7541115085_o

And the love that these two little boys already have for each other is incredible and so surprising, I mean I knew I’d love this little one instantly and without limit but nothing could prepare me for how quickly they felt that way about one another. It’s not perfect. Sam gets frustrated when he wants my attention and I’m busy with Tom. And Tom gets pretty bothered when he wants a feed, like now, and I have to make him wait a moment or two. But when I overhear Sam ‘teaching’ Tom how to do something, like ‘Here Tom, let me show you, this is how you jump Tom. Jumpy, jumpy, jumpy.’ And when I hear Tom squealing with delight simply because his big brother is looking at him, my heart feels like it’s going to burst.

14931791543_edd196d448_o

To all the Mom’s out there who are expecting a second child and are, as I was, anxious about how it’s going to affect your first born or change your dynamic or be really hard to handle, take heart. You’ll have your tough days but then good ones will be so incredibly good that you’ll move on and forget the bad. Having two children takes all of the love that you had with one child and multiplies it, not by two, but by a hundred. And we’re only five months in :)

 

2 thoughts on “Brotherly love

  1. This makes me hopeful!!

    Michelle Chudoba

    >

  2. My beautiful boys!!! Such a fun time I had with my “2” boys. It was beautiful to see the interactions between the two of them! Sam just needs to enter the room and Thomas breaks out with a “huge” smile and Sam always has a little something to say to his brother in passing. They certainly kept me busy and it was wonderful! If I wasn’t cuddling Thomas….for hours…..I was out on the street trying to keep up with Sam and all his friends! What a wonderful summer it was! I was only home a few weeks when boredom set in….time to return! hugs to all. Love Nana

Leave a comment